Scrap Metal May 10 2015

on .

This week in Scrap Metal compiled by our local "Rivet Head" Gail Flug:  Phil Rudd breaks his silence; Strangeland gets a reboot; bits about Stryper, Savatage and The Darkness and the loss of another musician.

This week in Scrap Metal compiled by our local "Rivet Head" Gail Flug:  Phil Rudd breaks his silence; Strangeland gets a reboot; bits about Stryper, Savatage and The Darkness and the loss of another musician.

Phil Rudd Breaks His Silence

AC/DC drummer Phil Rudd has finally broken his silence over his current situation and status with the band.  In an exclusive interview with the Australian news program, “A Current Affair”, the drummer made no excuses regarding his behavior, saying he was completely stressed when his solo album did not do well and was angry at the people who were working for him, citing the murder threat as a “mistake.” More so, he says he is "very disappointed" that he has had no contact with his bandmates, yet hopes to return to the fold one day.  As we have reported Rudd pleaded guilty to threatening to kill and drug possession charges and could face up to seven years in prison. He is currently out on bail until his sentencing hearing on June 26.

Watch the full report

Dee Snider’s Strangeland Gets A Reboot

Dee Snider - Strangeland Disciple

Dee Snider has signed with Emaji Entertainment to release his long-planned sequel to "Strangeland"; the 1998 cult horror film where the frontman portrayed Captain Howdy, a schizophrenic sadist who lures teens through the internet into his dark underground world of ritualistic body modification. The soundtrack included an impressive line-up such as System Of A Down, Sevendust, Slipknot, Megadeth, Pantera and of course Twisted Sister, yet failed at the box office. Details about the project are still developing, in fact the new film is being called a ‘reboot’, but Snider says the music and score will be very important to the film.  The working title is 'Strangeland: Disciple'.

Read the full press release

Blind Guardian Return To U.S.

Blind Guardian has announced a North American headlining tour with fellow German metallers Grave Digger.

Confirmed dates are as follows:

  • Oct. 27 - Baltimore Soundstage - Baltimore, MD
  • Oct. 29 - The Danforth Music Hall - Toronto, ON
  • Oct. 30 - Virgin Mobile Corona Theatre - Montreal, QC
  • Oct. 31 - The Palladium - Worcester, MA
  • Nov. 01 - Union Transfer - Philadelphia, PA
  • Nov. 03 - Webster Hall - New York, NY
  • Nov. 04 - Carnegie of Homestead Music Hall - Munhall, PA
  • Nov. 06 - The Crofoot - Pontiac, MI
  • Nov. 07 - House of Blues - Cleveland, OH
  • Nov. 08 - Concord Music Hall - Chicago, IL
  • Nov. 09 - Mill City Nights - Minneapolis, MN
  • Nov. 11 - The Summit Music Hall - Denver, CO
  • Nov. 13 - MacEwan Ballroom - Calgary, AB
  • Nov. 14 - Union Hall - Edmonton, AB
  • Nov. 16 - Commodore Ballroom - Vancouver, BC
  • Nov. 17 - Studio Seven - Seattle, WA
  • Nov. 19 - The Fillmore - San Francisco, CA
  • Nov. 20 - Ace of Spades - Sacramento, CA
  • Nov. 21 - City National Grove of Anaheim - Anaheim, CA
  • Nov. 22 - The Marquee - Tempe, AZ
  • Nov. 24 - Gas Monkey Live! - Dallas, TX
  • Nov. 25 - Warehouse Live - Houston, TX
  • Nov. 27 - The Masquerade - Atlanta, GA
  • Nov. 28 - The Plaza Live - Orlando, FL

Savatage Prepare For Reunion

SavatageSavatage will release a compilation titled "Return To Wacken" on June 19, to commemorate the band’s upcoming reunion performance at this year’s Wacken Open Air in Wacken, Germany, later this summer. As we reported, members of the band, who have not played together in over 13 years, will play a set after Trans-Siberian Orchestra.  The aforementioned album will feature studio versions of classic songs along with a deluxe booklet with notes by the group's mastermind, Jon Oliva, rare pictures and press quotes. As for more reunion shows, Oliva has said in interviews that they have received many offers to do it in certain areas of the world, including America, and will consider the possibilities once TSO is off the road.

"Return To Wacken" track listing:

  1. Hall Of The Mountain King
  2. Gutter Ballet
  3. Believe
  4. Chance
  5. Edge Of Thorns
  6. The Wake Of Magellan
  7. Dead Winter Dead
  8. The Hourglass
  9. Tonight He Grins Again
  10. Prelude To Madness
  11. When The Crowds Are Gone

Michael Sweet Post Hits Sour Note

Michael SweetWithout a doubt, social media has opened the door to new ways musicians can communicate with fans, but a recent post from Stryper frontman Michael Sweet brought on an interesting array of replies the vocalist may not have been ready for. On May 1st, Sweet bluntly remarked that being he is unable to hit the high notes anymore, he asked what fans would think if they had a touring vocalist to help him out while he stepped back and just played guitar.

Read the original post

Fans offered many ideas, saying having an additional vocalist was fine as long as Sweet remained with the band, as well as tuning down the arrangements so the songs would remain in his range. However, the majority showed support claiming that they want him to stay the band’s sole frontman, whether he can hit the notes or not. As you could imagine, the post went viral, with Sweet posting later in the week:  

"I asked a simple, hypothetical question. I never said I was leaving Stryper or making a lineup change - I feel better than ever :-)

I can't hit all the high notes (been that way for quite a while), but I can still sing and I'm blessed to be able to do so. I just don't want to let you guys down by not singing the songs like they were meant to be sung. I'll keep giving my all and doing my best and pushing on.

I'm inspired by singers like Tony Harnell, Todd La Torre, Arnel Pineda, Kelly Hansen, Jeff Scott Soto, Dave Meniketti, Robert Mason, John Corabi, Ken Tamplin & Tom Keifer to name a few. These guys sound like they're in their prime and heck, maybe I am too? There's a lot to say and a lot to do and I'm ready to do it!!!

Love and respect to all and thank you for always standing by my side" ~ M

The Darkness Announce New Drummer

The DarknessThe Darkness has parted ways with drummer Emily Davies and has officially announced her replacement as Rufus Taylor, son of legendary Queen drummer Roger Taylor. While this news has just surfaced, Rufus actually made his debut with the band in London a few weeks ago at a release party for their upcoming album, "Last Of Our Kind", which will be out in June.

Check out the new Darkness track, “Open Fire”, with their former drummer

Bassist Craig Gruber Passes Away

Craig GruberWe are sorry to report that bassist Craig Gruber died on Tuesday (May 5) at the age of 63 after a battle with prostate cancer. The name may not be familiar as the many bands he’s played with; he was a member of ELF alongside vocalist Ronnie James Dio, and played on the first Rainbow album, "Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow".  In later years he played with Ravenlord, The Rods as well other bands. According to reports he almost replaced Geezer Butler in Sabbath after Ozzy Osbourne was fired in the 70s. It is said Gruber worked on sessions of what would become the "Heaven And Hell" album, and once Butler heard the demos, he decided to return to the band.