Scrap Metal April 26 2015

on .

This week in Scrap Metal compiled by our local "Rivet Head" Gail Flug:  An important AC/DC update; a few reunions; a DVR alert for Zak Wylde fans; Faith No More Reissues; Megadeth Offer An Peak Into The Studio For A Price and more…

This week in Scrap Metal compiled by our local "Rivet Head" Gail Flug:  An important AC/DC update; a few reunions; a DVR alert for Zak Wylde fans; Faith No More Reissues; Megadeth Offer An Peak Into The Studio For A Price and more…

Phil Rudd Pleas Guilty

Phil RuddAC/DC drummer Phil Rudd appeared in a New Zealand court Tuesday morning and entered a guilty plea to charges of methamphetamine and cannabis possession, as well as one charge of threatening to kill. He remains on bail and has been ordered to appear for sentencing on June 26. As reported by Loudwire, the court summary claims the drummer called an associate saying he wanted his personal assistant to be “taken out” and was offered $200,000, a motorbike and the choice of one of his cars or a house to do the deed. Rudd also made threatening phone calls to the assistant, one where he actually said he said he will be coming over to kill him, but the assistant hung up as soon as he realized it was the drummer on the phone. Rudd’s lawyer has argued that the conversations were merely “angry phone calls,” while the court summary stated that the personal assistant “was genuinely fearful of his safety.” Reports state that Rudd’s anger stems from the fact that his solo album, “Head Job”, flopped and he was forced to fire several employees. Nonetheless, the drummer could face up to seven years in prison for the threatening to kill charge aside from the pending drug charges. Stay tuned.

Megadeth Launch Crowdfunding Page


Megadeth has posted a crowdfunding page for its upcoming 15th album on the direct-to-fan platform PledgeMusic.  They are offering backers a glimpse of the band in the studio, with rewards ranging from a signed CD, t-shirts, vinyl pressings, signed memoirs, autographed drumsticks and handwritten lyric sheets to more personal items such as songwriting sessions, guitar lessons, and a day in the studio with the band.  They are also offering an AccessPass, which will unlock access to videos, music, behind the scenes photos and private updates for $50.

More information

Britny Fox Announce Reunion

Britny Fox have announced a reunion featuring bassist Billy Childs, vocalist/rhythm guitarist Tommy Paris and drummer Johnny Dee. Due to commitments, original lead guitarist Michael Kelly Smith is unable to take part and has been replaced by Chris Sanders. They are currently in studio writing and recording the follow-up to 1991's "Bite Down Hard" album, and plan to tour soon after its release.

Original Venom Members Form New Band


Original Venom guitarist Jeff "Mantas" Dunn and drummer Anthony "Abaddon" Bray have rejoined forces with ex-Venom bassist/vocalist Tony "Demolition Man" Dolan in a brand new band called Venom Inc. They made their live debut at this weekend's Keep It True festival in Germany, and will continue with shows in Asia in July, followed by a full European tour in September. Currently, the band plays a full set of Venom classics, yet plans to record a brand new album in the coming months.

Faith No More Reissues

Faith No More will reissue their two best-selling albums, 1989's "The Real Thing" and 1992's "Angel Dust", in new editions featuring bonus live cuts, remixes, B-sides and other rarities. They will be available on June 9th as either double-CD or heavyweight double vinyl sets with the CDs. Meanwhile watch for the band’s first set of new music in 18 years, "Sol Invictus", on May 19.

Leading Guitarists Unite For The Ultimate Cruise

Inspiring guitarists will wish to save for a cruise to set sail next year. The 2016 Axes & Anchors Cruise will feature appearances from Zakk Wylde, Yngwie Malmsteen, Michael Schenker, Alex Skolnick, Tracii Guns and others who will perform and hold free guitar workshops and meet and greets over the five day, four night festival. The boat ride boards in Miami on February 20 and will cruise to Nassau, Bahamas and back by February 24. Early bird ticket prices are on sale now over at

Zakk Wylde Unblackened Show To Air

Zakk Wylde

Zakk Wylde will be featured on the season debut of "Front And Center", public television's critically acclaimed one-hour performance show where artists play to intimate audiences of only a few hundred. The episode was filmed at The Iridium in New York City recently during his “unblackened” tour.

Watch clips at the links below:

Raven Release New Album

RavenRaven will release its new album, "ExtermiNation", on April 28 via SPV/Steamhammer. The album was funded by a Kickstarter crowd-funding campaign where they raised more than $27,000 to cover expenses, and fans were given a free download to a full-length covers CD titled "Party Killers" as a reward. 

The official video for the song "Battle March/Tanks Treads (The Blood Runs Red)"

"ExtermiNation" track listing:

  1. Destroy All Monsters
  2. Tomorrow
  3. It's Not What You Got
  4. Fight
  5. Battle March/Tank Treads (The Blood Runs Red)
  6. Feeding The Monster
  7. Fire Burns Within
  8. Scream
  9. One More Day
  10. Thunder Down Under
  11. No Surrender
  12. Golden Dawn
  13. Silver Bullet
  14. River Of No Return
  15. Malice In Geordieland (bonus track)