Scrap Metal April 5 2015

on .

This week in Scrap Metal compiled by our local "Rivet Head" Gail Flug: Updates on the Twisted Sister and Megadeth; Duff McKagan Comes To Long Island; Judas Priest Are Hell Bent For Caffeine and more...

This week in Scrap Metal compiled by our local "Rivet Head" Gail Flug: Updates on the Twisted Sister and Megadeth; Duff McKagan Comes To Long Island; Judas Priest Are Hell Bent For Caffeine and more...

Twisted Sister To Tour Later This Year

Twisted Sister

Twisted Sister guitarist Jay Jay French stated on this blog that the band will tour later this with the help of "a professional drummer who is a friend.” He added, “This will allow us to fulfill our touring obligations and, most important, give us some space to make some very hard decisions about our future.” The guitarist also wrote of his bandmate’s passing, “I realize that the band's collective history is so long, so deep, so intertwined that AJ's death has shaken us to the core. It made me realize the fundamental connection that we as a band and company share as friends with a nearly 40-year history.” No other details have been revealed, yet you can read his touching tribute.

AJ Pero's Family Needs Your Help

AJ Pero Family

In related news, a crowdfunding campaign has been launched through to raise money for AJ Pero's longtime girlfriend, Michele, and their 14 year old Briana. According to the post, she has been on disability for two years due to an injury and since AJ was the sole provider to the family, they are in need of financial assistance to cover bills, and other necessities until she can find a job. At the time of this writing they have raised close to $4,500, almost half of their goal, in just one day. 
Get more information and donate

Megadeth Confirm Kiko Loureiro Has Joined The Band


Hours before FMS last week we received official word that Lamb of God‘s Chris Adler was handling drums for the forthcoming Megadeth album. On Thursday the band confirmed that Angra guitarist Kiko Loureiro will be joining as well. 

In a statement posted on Megadeth’s website, frontman Dave Mustaine revealed, “I first met Kiko around 8 years ago for a cover shoot for Burrn! magazine. I had no idea who he was, other than the fact he was tremendously talented and that the staff from Burrn! held him in high regard. Since then I’ve come to see what a guitar virtuoso he is, and I’m deeply encouraged by his depth and talent. Very few Megadeth alumni have had the same feel and ability as Kiko. As Frank Sinatra says, ‘The best is yet to come!’”

Other than the aformentioned statement, there was no mention if Loureiro was actually in the studio with them, as Mustaine hinted that the group would record as a three-piece, but as Loureiro will be touring with them, it seems likely he’ll be on the album. Meanwhile, the members of Angra have expressed absolute support behind him, and hope he will continue to work with them in the future. The band’s latest album, "Secret Garden", was released on January 16, and you can check out the track “Final Light

Duff McKagan Published Second Book

Duff McKaganBassist Duff McKagan will publish his second book titled "How To Be A Man (And Other Illusions) on May 12th. The book expands on his popular weekly columns in Seattle Weekly, and, where he equips readers with his wisdom on everything from financial planning, fatherhood and relationships to surviving life on the road, and escaping a military coup.  McKagan published his critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling memoir, "It's So Easy (And Other Lies)" in 2012.

McKagan has announced the following book signings in our area: 

  • May 11 - Ridgewood, NJ - Bookends
  • May 12 - New York, NY - The Strand Bookstore
  • May 13 - Long Island, NY - Book Revue

Def Leppard To Set Sail In January

Def Leppard is the latest band to announce their own cruise with the inaugural "Hysteria On The High Seas". It sets sail from Miami, Florida on January 21, and will sail for four nights on the elegant MSC Divina with stops at Half Moon Cay (a private island) and the Bahamas. The journey will feature live music on multiple stages, theme nights, and other special events. Go to for more information. Meanwhile the band will release its eleventh, self-titled album before the end of the year. 

Judas Priest Hell Bent For Caffeine

Judas PriestJudas Priest has unleashed their own coffee to celebrate the 35th anniversary of their classic album "British Steel". Unfortunately the limited edition run -- will comes with an old-school cassingle, featuring "Grinder" and "Snakebite" - is only available via the Dark Matter Coffee web site and three Chicago retail locations, but fans may want to take the splurge. 

According to the press release, "The Great Halls of Metal were fashioned by JUDAS PRIEST — in their studs and leather with everything faster, heavier — guitars, amps, power — blazing around the planet — higher, louder… SOARING in EPIC PROPORTIONS! Their all-out sonic attack cemented their place as the firebrand for British heavy metal.

Does anything cut as deep as 'British Steel'? NO! The songs comprising this landmark record yielded both monumental commercial success, capturing the attention of the broader uninitiated … while also producing anthems to those already deeply enmeshed in a turbo charged new genre. PRIEST unleashed this razor sharp maelstrom onto the collective consciousness and we've thankfully never been the same since! Instantly recognizable for their peerless attack, the fuel for this inexorable juggernaut must be both ebullient and unremitting. The brewed crude sparkles cup after cup, sin after sin. Death to false coffee."

You can order your own bag

Pretty Boy Floyd Tribute To KISS

Pretty Boy FloydPretty Boy Floyd has released a tribute album to KISS titled "Kiss Of Death". It is available via
Cleopatra Records on CD and digital download, and will be released on vinyl later this year. 

"Kiss Of Death" track listing:

  1. King Of The Night Time World
  2. Room Service
  3. I Stole Your Love
  4. I Love It Loud
  5. Goin' Blind
  6. Deuce
  7. Creatures Of The Night
  8. Detroit Rock City
  9. Firehouse
  10. Love Gun
  11. Shout It Out Loud
  12. Christine 16
  13. Strutter
  14. Let Me Go Rock N' Roll
  15. Black Diamond

Wildabouts guitarist Jeremy Brown Passes Away

Jeremy BrownSad news; Jeremy Brown, guitarist for Scott Weiland and the Wildabouts, has passed away on Monday, the day before the release of their new album titled “Blaster”. He had been with the former STP frontman for the past seven years, including his 2008 solo album, ‘Happy in Galoshes.’ No cause of death has been announced. He was 34 years old.

Scott Weiland’s full statement follows: 

"We received a call today about my friend Jeremy Brown that has shaken me to the core. We were all concerned this afternoon when Jeremy didn’t show up for a long-scheduled rehearsal for tonight’s album release show at School Night. An hour later, Jeremy’s family called us to say that he had passed away. I am in shock right now, everyone that knows him is devastated. It is a terrible loss that goes beyond words. He is one of my best friends, a truest friend and one of the most gifted guitar players that I’ve ever known. A true genius. It’s impossible to explain how much he will be missed and what a hole this will leave in our hearts. A post on Facebook feels so trite and small compared to the love that I have for him and for the talent that has passed on but I felt it was necessary to at least start here. Please keep his family in your thoughts."